Wednesday, July 11, 2007

I Marc 4 - I Solisti Di Armando Trovajoli

I Marc 4 - I Solisti Di Armando Trovajoli
Label - Plastic
Released - 2000
Style - Latin Jazz/Jazz/Funk/Soundtrack/Library/Easy Listening

(review borrowed from Orgy in Rhythm blog)
This groovy album, recorded on Cometa (an obscure music library label) is a perfect mix of organ beat, bossa jazz, fast fuzz, batucada, samba beat with funky flute. Of course this is the first album by the legendary Marc 4 studio group - a funky Italian combo that often featured Armando Trovajoli on keyboards, plus backing by guitar, drums, and bass. The name I Marc 4 (or Marc 4) comes from the initials of their members: Maurizio Majorana (Bass), Antonello Vannucci (Hammond/Piano), Roberto Podio (Drums/Percussion) and Carlo Pes (guitar) who played and recorded most of Travajoi's compositions. The keyboards vary from funky organ to jangly electric harpsichord to sharp-edged piano and the group's sound is often complimented by some extra horn work. Groove-tastic!

1 Alex
2 Love Theme
3 Mato Grosso
4 Piccadilly Circus
5 Hyde Park
6 Regent Street
7 Soho
8 Trafalgar Square
9 Lua Linda
10 Gare
11 Silouette
12 Jokey
13 Piramidi
14 To Pedal



1 comment:

litlgrey said...

I lost my first rip of this - thanks for the opportunity to get it back!