Sunday, November 29, 2009

V/A - Artists Anonymous 4 [Bunker 2009 Ltd]

This mysterious compilation of predominantly unknown origin has made its way across the binary universe and landed here, like some compressed package of space dust or alien bacterial shmear.

Either way, this Artists Anonymous comp on the Bunker label received limited vinyl release during 2009. With little to no information on many artists and track names included on the comp, I about flipped out when I heard the first couple tracks. Dark, atmospheric Electro with hardly any trace of human involvement :)

So this weird comp has landed in my #1 spot for bug out material released in 2009.... Enjoy :!~

Various - Artists Anonymous #4
Label: Bunker Records
Catalog#: BUNKER 3082
Format: Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, White Label, Limited Edition, Red
Country: Netherlands
Released: 29 Apr 2009
Genre: Electro

A1 Unknown Artist - Untitled
A2 The Pulse Projects - Sacred Prostitute Series042
A3 Erikoismies - Untitled
A4 Star-Kid - Star Seed
B1 Loyal Plastic Robot - Night At The Institute
B2 Interfunk - U Got My Number
B3 Voltron ST-727 - Black Flag
B4 Voltron ST-727 - Dummheit

Notes ~
Limited edition of 100 copies, pressed on red vinyl.
Released in a clear plastic sleeve with a large paper inlaysheet with release details printed on it.


Monday, November 9, 2009

Linval Thompson - Phoenix Dub * Re-Up!

Linval Thompson - Phoenix Dub
Label - Motion
Recorded - 1980-1982
Style - Dancehall, Dub, Reggae, Lee Library

1. Clock Face Dub
2. Back Against The Wall
3. Dub Somebody
4. Wrong Fight Version
5. Hungry Belly Dub
6. Holding On I Dub
7. Dubbing Feet
8. Guide Me In Dub Style
9. Got To Hide Dub
10. Lonely Cry
11. Own Eyes Version
12. Scatter Grain Dub
13. Dubbing To Africa
14. Doing Good Dub

(from Dusty Groove):
So the story goes on this set that Linval Thompson came across these tapes when cleaning house, tapes of previously unreleased sessions he'd cut with the Roots Radics and the Revolutionaries, then handed over to Tubby, Scientist (yes!!) and Jammy to mix. There are some nice dubs of Thompson's best rhythms here, choice cuts and unique versions that you know haven't been released, they've been in the bottom of a closet for years! Remastered with fine sound quality, there's 13 bottom heavy cuts here to keep your woofer from gathering dust: "Clock Face Dub", "Back Against The Wall", "Dub Somebody", "Wrong Fight Version", "Hungry Belly Dub", "Holding On In Dub", "Dubbing Feet", "Guide Me In Dub Style", "Got To Hide Dub", "Lonely Cry", "Own Eyes Version", 'Scatter Grain Dub" and "Dubbing To Africa".