Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Zoviet-France - Shouting at the Ground

Label: Charrm
Catalog#: CHARRMCD12
Format: CD, Album, Reissue
Country: UK
Released: 1990
Genre: Electronic
Style: Industrial, Experimental, Ambient 

1  Smocking Erde      2:52     
2  Palace Of Ignitions     2:14    
3  Come To The Edge     8:50    
4  Revenue Of Fire     2:06    
5  Dybbuk     1:26    
6  Camino Real     1:50    
7  Stocc Blawers     2:22    
8  Fickle Whistle, Hand Over Your Ears     3:35    
9  Carole The Breedbate     1:47    
10 Marrch Dynamic     2:48    
11 Wind Thief     1:35    
12 Shamany Enfluence     21:03    
13 The Death Of Trees   15:14


Zoviet-France - Loh Land (1987)

Originally released as a cassette back in 1987 as a tape on Staalplaat (ST 00L), Loh Land is one of the few albums from Zoviet France’s early days that encapsulates many of their ideas for a fictional music rich with amorphously spiritual connotations. The aforementioned drones, dubs, and drums alongside distanced vocal chants with have been thoroughly abstracted through a series of delay effects boxes, tape loop machines, and multi-track studio tricks, to create the album’s murky atmosphere. Zoviet France’s Loh Land succeeds in being beautifully but indeterminately holy. Original recordings made April 1985. This cd version was released on Staalplaat (STCD 018) in 1992.