Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Gregory Isaacs - Dub A De Number One

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

With over 25 years of experience in the reggae industry the one and only, veteran sound of Gregory Isaac"s has become world renown. A whole generation of Jamaicans and reggae fans literally grew up with his music. Nicknamed The Cool Ruler, Gregory Isaacs, born 1951, Kingston, Jamaica, has produced during a three decade career a trailer load of reggae classics. His effective combination of cultural songs and soul-wailing love songs was irresistable. He easily adapted the new digital style of the mid 80s, and his popularity further increased with consistent albums for King Jammy, King Tubby and Gussie Clarke. With dozens of excellent album releases like 'Extra Classic', 'More Gregory', 'Mr. Isaacs', 'The Lonely Lover', 'Night Nurse' and 'Red Rose For Gregory' Gregory Isaacs' catalog is immense. Gregory's voice and style are unique and are highly respected in the reggae arena.

Some of his best work has been for producer Alvin Ranglin. The pair teamed up in 1974 to record Gregory's first major hit, "Love is Overdue," and went on to record a series of classic albums. At the end of 2002 they released the excellent album "I Found Love". This current HeartBeat collection features excellent dub versions of tracks from that album, along with the dubs to many of his hits from throughout his long career including "My Number One" (Dub A De Number One), "Border" (On The Edge), "Tumbling Tears" (Teardrops Dub) and his very earliest, "Love Is Overdue" (Overdue). These dubs come from the vaults of G.G. Records in Jamaica and most are previously unreleased. The tracks were recorded at Channel One, Harry J, Randy's and Treasure Isle studios. Credited as engineers/mixers are Ernest Hoo Kim, Maxie, Sylvan Morris, Errol Thompson and Byron Smith with backing provided by the Revolutionaries, the Soul Syndicate Band and the G.G. All Stars.

Gregory Isaacs - Dub A De Number One
Label: Heartbeat
Record date: 197X
Album style: Dub, Lee Library, Reggae

1. Changing Dub
2. You're Not My Enemy
3. Waterfall Dub
4. Stand Up For Justice
5. Circuit Court
6. Heatwave
7. Jury Must Stand
8. Equal Share
9. Teardrops Dub
10. Fugitive Dub
11. Interrogation
12. Lonely Dub
13. Overdue
14. On The Edge
15. Dub A De Number One

Engineers: Ernest Hoo Kim & Maxie & Sylvan Morris & Errol Thompson
Producer: Alvin Ranglin
Backing Bands: The G.G. All Stars & The Revolutionaries & The Soul Syndicate
Studios: Channel One (Kingston, JA) & Randy's (Kingston, JA) & Treasure Isle (Kingston, JA)


No comments: