Monday, September 24, 2007

Augustus Clark - Black Foundation Dub

Augustus Clark - Black Foundation Dub
Label - Burning Sounds
Released - 1976
Style - Dub, Reggae, Roots, Lee Library

1. Black Foundation
2. No, No, No
3. Free Zone
4. Big Or Small
5. Creation Dub
6. Rockers Time
7. Funny Feelings
8. Murderer
9. Late Arrival
10. Rocking Vibration
11. One Way
12. Loving Pauper
13. No Entry

(Review by AMG)
Black Foundation Dub was originally released solely in Jamaica back in 1977. The seminal album was built upon rhythms taken from a basketful of Gussie Clarke productions, all cut during the mid-'70s. These included such classics as K.C. White's "No No No," which was also versioned by Big Youth for his masterful "Screaming Target"; the DJ's equally powerful "Murderer," itself a version of Horace Andy's "Skylarking"; vocal cuts from such great artists as Delroy Wilson, Gregory Isaacs, and Dennis Brown; and a handful of scintillating instrumentals, including Augustus Pablo's "No Entry." King Tubby and Philip Smart took these ten superb songs and refashioned them into the dub masterpieces that comprised the album. The sleeve notes help identify all the tracks and also give a fascinating bio of Clarke himself drawn from interviews. Of course, all credit is due to the producer for creating these phenomenal rhythms, giving the two dub-masters a rich template on which to work their magic. And magic it is, as the men conjure up snatches of melody, vocals, and instruments, sifting them in and out of the deep, dubby beats. This reissue adds three bonus tracks, all also remixed by Tubby and Smart during this period: an extended mix of "No Entry" and a pair of Gregory Isaacs cuts, "My Time" and "Loving Pauper." ~ Jo-Ann Greene, All Music Guide


No comments: